Runecats Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Half-Life/Half-Life 2

2 posters

Go down

Half-Life/Half-Life 2 Empty Half-Life/Half-Life 2

Post by AMV_Ph34r Wed Dec 09 2009, 16:34

I can't believe we haven't discussed these games before. I've been obsessing over both of them for the past three months. I actually got HL2 before I ever played the first one, but once I finished it, I went back to play 1.

Half-Life:
----------
I personally think that the graphics are amazing in both games. In Half-Life, for the time period it was made, the general graphics are amazing, and the interactiveness (is that a word?) of the world around you as well. Plus, the storyline is pure genius. Sure, there have been plenty of movies in laboratories before, so it's not the most original idea, but the way it's carried out is what counts, and Valve did a great job of that. There's also some puzzles built into there (Valve reused this somewhat in Portal). For instance, at once point you are in a room filled with these energy balls that transport you to another area or part of the room (like permanent portals). You have to pass through the correct combination of these portals to get to the next room. Otherwise, you'll either end up where you started, or die.
Also, Valve had some good ideas for the weapons available to you throughout the game. For instance, at the beginning of the game, you're just a scientist, and have no weapon, but once the incident begins, you get a crowbar. Not the most damaging weapons, but it works, and it ends up being pretty useful throughout the game. As you progress, you collect more guns, some of which fire powerful energy beams, and one that even creates those energy ball portals to transport enemies away.